Cauliflower Curry Sauce

Stay with me folks, I know it sounds weird.

Curry sauce, made from cauliflower? I know, I know, sounds wrong, tastes amazing!!

I’ve yet to find the original source for this idea so I cannot link to credit, but I tried it last night for the first time and wow, am I converted!!

Not only is it Speed food (Cauliflower, onion), but it’s low fat and SO tasty. Really worth a try.

I served it as a dip with a Valentines Dinner of steak, chips, green beans and onion rings – (Click Here for steak and chips with curry sauce meal) for more information on that meal.

Let me know what you think of this I’m really interested to hear if others liked it as much as me.

The original recipe is even more basic, I will post that beneath mine, which of course, I had to change up a little bit.

Cauliflower Curry Sauce

1 head of cauliflower, broken into florets (or equivalent of frozen)

2 chicken (or vegetable) stock cubes

boiling water

1 clove garlic

2 small onions

1 small red chilli (optional)

2 tablespoons Hot Curry powder

1 tablespoon Garam Masala (this is optional but I think really makes a curry sauce special)

2 tablespoons tomato puree

salt and pepper

– with lo-cal spray, fry off the onion, garlic, chilli for a couple of minutes until starting to soften and colour

– spray again and add the curry powder and fry for 1-2 mins

– add all the cauliflower, and enough boiling water to cover it completely, add the chicken stock cubes too

– bring to the boil, then reduce and simmer for 15/20 mins until the cauliflower is completely softened

– puree with a hand held blender or liquidiser

– add the tomato puree and garam massalla and stir well. Add a little more hot water if it’s a bit thick.

This is the SAUCE recipe. As I said above, I used it as a dip with a main meal (and it is speed and superfree even as a dip!!) but this would also make a great sauce for a chicken (or any meat) curry, just add it to fried veggies and chicken, etc.

Original Recipe (can be found on facebook and many forums online)

1 Head of cauliflower or frozen

3 stock cubes

curry powder

– cover the cauliflower in hot stock and boil until cooked through. Add curry powder and blitz.

2015/02/img_3271.jpg

5 thoughts on “Cauliflower Curry Sauce

Leave a Reply

