Tikka Tikka Tuesday

I’m working my way through the Slimming World “FakeAway” Book

I tried the Lamb Dhansak recently and I don’t know what I did to it, but it wasn’t nice! I plan to try the Beef version Click Here next week

So, on Tuesday I wanted something yummy but curry like (the boys will eat curry and rice and not much else!)
I had chicken. I had no tomatoes, chopped or fresh or even passatta and I had no coconut milk. How was I going to make something that resembled a curry!

Fakeaway book to the rescue! Chicken Tikka Masala all I needed was fat free natural yoghurt and I had fat free Greek yoghurt so we were good to go! I also read the recipe at 2pm so had a good 3.5 hours marinade time!

I had no tikka powder I just used the hot madras curry powder I have so I did not add any extra chilli that is In the original recipe.

I served with onion and coriander cauliflower “rice” for us and basmati for the kids

This recipe is Syn Free on Extra Easy

Chicken Tikka Masala

Serves 4

Juice of 1 lime (I cheated and used 3 tbsp bottled lime juice)
150g fat free Greek yoghurt
4 tbsp hot madras curry powder (or 5tbsp tikka powder)
Salt and pepper
4 skinless chicken breasts chopped into chunks
1 onion finely chopped (recipe says grated, how exactly one is meant to grate an onion I do not know!)
4 garlic cloves crushed
2cm piece of ginger peels and grated
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cumin
6 tbsp tomato purée
5 tablespoons fat free Greek yoghurt (original recipe says fat free fromage frais)
Fresh coriander to garnish

Cauliflower rice:
1 head cauliflower
Fresh coriander bunch
1 onion finely chopped
1 clove garlic crushed

– in a large dish mix the lime juice, 5tbsp yoghurt, 2 tbsp of the curry powder (or 3 of tikka). Season well with salt and pepper then add the chicken and mix well. Marinade in fridge for 4 hours or overnight.
I like to attack the chicken pieces in the marinade with 2 forks to poke lots of little holes in the chicken and really get that marinade in. You can skip this part but it’s quite fun.

– when ready to go, heat up the grill and spray a pan with lo cal spray. Add the onion, garlic, ginger, cinnamon, cumin and the rest of the curry powder and fry for 2-3 mins.

– stir in the tomato purée and 300ml of water. Bring to the boil then reduce and simmer for 15 mins, stirring often

– meanwhile, thread the marinaded chicken onto skewers (use metal if you have them, if you are using wooden skewers, cover the ends with tinfoil because even though I soaked mine one of them still went on fire under the grill, oops)

– spray with lo cal spray and grill for 15 mins turning now and then until nice and deep golden coloured

– remove the chicken from skewers and stir into the sauce. Take off the heat then stir in the rest of the yogurt and scatter fresh coriander leaves (optional)

Coriander and onion cauliflower “rice”
– break the cauliflower into florets and blitz in processor until it resembles rice. Do in batches otherwise tends to get too mushy and over crowded, you need to just pulse it a few times to get a good consistency of not too small and mushy
– finely chop the onion and add to a frying pan with spray oil and the garlic and fry until golden in colour.
– finely chop the stalks of a good bunch of coriander and add them in along with the cauliflower. Stir well and add 5 tablespoons water and put a lid on to let it steam and cook the cauliflower through, about 10 mins
– season when cooked and scatter fresh coriander leaves over when serving

IMG_9363.JPG

IMG_9360.JPG

2 thoughts on “Tikka Tikka Tuesday

  1. Hi! Love your blog, stumbled upon it after a google search about my beloved Taco fries, and had a quick nosey around.
    have followed you, and came across this recipe, which i had meal planned into this weeks meals this morning, so glad i have seen someone who has tried it out!! Looks tasty!
    Carlafarla 🙂

    • Thanks for the lovely message Carlafarla! The tikka recipe is really lovely, highly recommend you marinade as long as possible, even from morning as the flavour improves all day then 🙂 report back x

Leave a Reply

