Chicken Biriyani

While I was in an Indian restaurant recently, I tried a chicken biriyani for the first time and fell in love! Tender spicy chicken surrounded by flavoured rice, what’s not to love!

So I decided to give it a go myself. I cheated slightly and used a pataks paste (1.5 syns per tablespoon) but I’m going to research a spice mix to try myself next time.

Any vegetables will work here I’ve listed out what I used! Hope you like it!

Chicken Biriyani

Serves 4
(2.5 syns per serving, excluding almonds)

175g basmati rice
1 brown onion chopped
1 carrot finely diced
100g green beans, halved (I used frozen)
100g petit pois
3 chicken fillets sliced in approx 6 pieces
6 tablespoons pataks biriyani paste
2 tablespoons natural yoghurt (I used fat free liberte Greek yoghurt)
1 tin tomatoes

To serve:
25g sliced almonds, toasted (optional)
Yoghurt
Fresh chopped mint

– mix 2 tablespoons yoghurt with 2 tablespoons of the paste
– marinade the chicken in this mix for 2-3 hours at least
– cook the rice in salted water until just underdone, then drain and remove from the heat
– meanwhile, seal the chicken pieces until nicely coloured, remove to a plate
– sauté the onions and carrots until softened then add the paste, mix well, then add green beans, peas and tinned tomatoes and stir
– mix the rice into the veg and add 1 cup of water
– in an oven proof dish – place half the rice and veg mix on the bottom
– place the chicken along the top of this
– then top with the remaining rice, ensuring the chicken is totally covered
– wrap carefully with tinfoil then make at 180 degrees for half an hour
– serve topped with a spoon of yoghurt and sprinkled with almonds and mint

IMG_8328.PNG

Leave a Reply

