One small step….off the scales!!!

20140824-141953-51593427.jpg

Last week, on Thursday morning, 10 days ago, to be precise, I took the batteries out of my weighing scales.

The scales that I stood ok every.single.morning (after going to the loo and no clothes on naturally). And every morning I would get upset. So I would do it again every night before bed, so I could judge how bad the morning weigh in would be.

And THEN I PAID to go once a week to get weighed by someone else!! And I’d gain or loose the same 3/4 pound, for 2 years, and leave miserable, and binge eat on the way home.

So, as I said in the last post, something changed. Something had started and I don’t know what it is.

I weighed myself on Thursday morning then I took out the batteries.
Then, I celebrated my wonderful, empowering step by having lunch out with my beloved nana, I had curry, extra veg; no rice and pinched a few of nana’s chips.

I met my friend and her gorgeous daughter and we went for a walk and had coffee and cake.

And I went out for dinner with my husband, had 2 glasses of red wine, starter and a delicious risotto.

Then I came home and went to bed. I didn’t weigh myself. I knew I couldn’t. I had given the batteries to himself with strict instructions to keep them for a week.

I woke up the next morning and didn’t weigh myself. I looked at the scales, it occurred to me to search for the batteries but I didn’t.

Writing it down and even talking about this ridiculously unhealthy habit has made me realise how free I feel not weighing myself every day.

I need to work on my self-image and stop hating my reflection but now I don’t depress myself every morning.

If you are a slave to the scales, I hope this entry may help you realise it Dosen’t have to control your life.

So I will leave you with this image and recipe, because now I bake with my son without guilt – I just have to not eat the entire batch!!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

20140824-142908-52148770.jpg

One thought on “One small step….off the scales!!!

Leave a Reply

