Two diets, One meal

So, myself and himself follow 2 different diet plans. I stick (sort of!!) to Slimming World and he a slow carb/low carb sort of paleo plan type of thing involving yuck like butter in coffee and way too many egg whites for my liking!

I digress. As a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) I don’t want to have to cook different meals for us all so unless I know the kids really won’t eat what we are having and they have a fish finger meal, I try to adapt what we have for us all.

Yesterday I took left over turkey breast and fried it up in nandos hot sauce for himself and made a salad dressing for myself (recipe below)

20140604-134420.jpg

20140604-134433.jpg

For dinner last night we had leftover chicken rogan josh. I had “normal” rice and made him cauliflower “rice” stir fried with mushrooms, coriander and garlic. My husband has the best wife ever 🙂

20140604-134954.jpg

Peri Peri Salad Dressing

(I used Nando’s sauce but you could google a recipe to make your own sauce)

1 tablespoon Nandos Medium Peri Peri Sauce
5 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
Juice of half a lemon

Mix it all up and pour a few spoons over your salad. It’s got quite a kick 🙂

Mushroom & Garlic Cauliflower Rice

A small head of cauliflower, broken into florets
2 cloves garlic chopped
7/8 mushrooms, sliced
Fresh coriander
Coconut oil or oil of your choice

Steam the florets until just about cooked
Meanwhile fry the mushrooms and garlic in hot oil
Roughly mash the cauliflower and tip into the pan, mix well and add fresh chopped coriander

Leave a Reply

