“Chip Shop” Curry Sauce

Hello folks.

This curry sauce is am.az.ZING! I have been eating the mushy pea curry for so long that it never occurred to me to try this one out. But one evening recently I wanted proper curry sauce, like from the chipper, and I didn’t want peas or beans or vegetables in it. I wanted a big plate of chips and curry sauce.

I did toy with the idea of walking around to the chipper and just getting a bag of chips and a tub of curry sauce but I stayed strong. And it was worth it.

I now make double and freeze in small containers to have with my chips for syn-free indulgence, and I also use it as a curry sauce for dinner with onions, peppers, courgette and chicken added. Delish.

The fresh herbs at the end really make it so don’t leave them out! I buy a pack of each and use the lot in a big double batch of sauce.

This is one of the few recipes that i’ve posted that I have not changed from the Original Recipe Here with the exception of adding some more water to make it a little thinner!  I hope you like it as much as I do!

Chip Shop Curry Sauce

– 1 onion, peeled and chopped

– 2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

– 1 tsp squeezy ginger (or use 1cm piece of fresh and grate it)

– 1.5 tablespoon curry powder (use medium-hot)

– 1 tin chopped tomatoes

– 60 ml vegetable stock (or chicken)

– 2 tbsp sweetener

– 50g fat free fromage frais

– 1 tablespoon each fresh chopped coriander and mint

Method
 
– spray a pan with low calorie oil spray and fry the onion and garlic for 2 mins, add the curry powder, stir well and fry for 1 min
– add the tomatoes, stock, sweetener and ginger, bring to the boil, reduce heat and simmer for 12-15 mins
– blend using a stick blender or liquidizer and add some water to consistency you prefer
– keeping it off the heat, stir in the fat free fromage frais and herbs and serve in a small dish to dunk chips in or over your chips, or in a foil tray with the chips covered in sauce and a plastic spoon to feel really authentic 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

