Weetabix Brownies

In my search for a chocolate, cakey, but not eggy and yuck fix, keeping it all as low syn as possible, I have googled and experimented and finally come up with something I not only like, but that my kids are mad for too!

Delicious with a cup of tea, or served as a dessert with some raspberries and fat free fruit yoghurt or sweetened fat free fromage frais.

They are 2 syns a square if cut into 8 pieces

Sinead’s Weetabix Brownies Makes 6-8

2 Weetabix (6.5 syns)
1 Tsp Baking Powder (1/2 syn)
50g Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (9 Syns)
4 tablespoons Canderel or similar
3 eggs, separated
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp instant coffee powder

  – preheat oven to 200’c (or 400f) – grease a baking tray approx.  20cm x 14cm (or near enough, that’s the size I have used!)

-In a bowl, crush the weetabix and mix with the baking powder and set aside

– add the cocoa powder and instant coffee powder to 80mls very hot water and stir well. leave to cool slightly then add to the weetabix and stir well –

-Mix the vanilla into the egg yolks, then mix same into weetabix mix

– Whisk the egg whites until stiff (holds peaks) and add in the sweetener, whisking as you do so

-Whisk 1/4 of the egg whites into the weetabix and cocoa mix to loosen it, then fold it all into the egg whites carefully

– pour it all into the tin and bake for 35 mins – allow to cool then cut into 8 pieces

– to make it extra decadent, spread 2 tablespoons of Nutella over the top while it’s still slightly warm, adds 1 Syn to the portion each

6 thoughts on “Weetabix Brownies

  1. Sorry,as once again I became very backed-up and neglected everyone and my own blog.I hope all is well with you ,Sinead…you have been in my thoughts.
    We have different products here, but have get in more and more imports.I have yet to see Weetabix,(as you have mentioned before) and I have no idea what Canderel is! But I hope to keep up a bit better…you are one of the first I have checked back in on.
    Take care!
    T

Leave a Reply

