Lasagne my way!

I’ve been experimenting for a long time to find a white/cheese sauce I like for lasagne as I really dislike the yogurt version!

I’ve come up with something I love and I am sharing it in the hope that others like it too! I’ve also used this sauce for a fish pie recently, without the cheddar cheese!

As far as syns go. There are 4.5 syns in 25g cornflour and I’ve used 2 healthy A portions between 4 servings.

– 5 laughing cow light triangles
– 30g mature cheddar, grated
– 1.5 pints stock
– 25g cornflour blended in a little water
– 1 tsp mustard
– salt and pepper

– in a pot, melt the laughing cow triangles with the cheddar in half the stock
– when melted, stir in the mustard and seasoning
– add in the cornflour and whisk well
– when sauce thickens add more stock as required
– heat for 5 mins to cook out the cornflour, stirring well and adding stock if needed

20131127-141129.jpg

My Lasagne

(This has lots of veggies hidden in it for my kids but makes for a tasty meal!)

500g extra lean beef mince
1/2 butternut squash diced
1 red onion finely diced
2 cloves garlic minced
1 red pepper finely diced
1 medium carrot grated
1 carton passata
1 beef stock cube
1tsp Italian herbs, salt and pepper

– fry the onion until softened, add the mince and brown
– add in all remaining ingredients, bring to the boil, the reduce heat and simmer for 1 hour.
(This makes a great bolonaise sauce too!!)

– start with a thin layer of mince, then lasagne, then some white sauce, and repeat until all of the sauce is used up
– I find it helpful to par boil the sheets so they can be easily cut to fit dishes – here I used round individual dishes
– the final layer should be white sauce and this can be topped with some grated cheddar (keep back from sauce or add syns)

Bake at 180 for 40 mins or until cooked though and golden.

20131127-141729.jpg

Leave a Reply

