Turkey Enchiladas

20130326-105524.jpgEnchildas?! Not a big fan, all that cheese and goo, and grease….so when a Food Club (on a forum i’m a member of) post this week was Enchiladas I didn’t think i’d be impressed.

The poster got original recipes from recipegirl.com and Enchilada sauce is taken from cookingclassy.com, I tweaked what the original post had quite a bit, to suit myself, my slimming world plan and what I had available to me yesterday! The big difference I made is that I used Turkey Mince in place of beef, I was going to try Quorn but I chickened out, pardon the pun!!

Half way through wrapping up the enchiladas and loading up the dish, I realised that a) I had forgotton to put cheese in them and b)my dish was too small, so I fashioned a bigger “tray” using tinfoil and a large roasting tin, unwrapped the 3 I had done, put in the cheese, re-wrapped them (a very messy job indeed) and in doing so, forgot to layer sauce on the bottom, which meant the bottom layer stuck like crazy….and I later caught himself with a fork scooping out the crispy bits stuck to the tinfoil!!

This version of the recipe that I have listed here is exactly what I used and the end result was extremely good, and I will definetely use turkey mince again, although I will try Beef too. The original recipe listed beef and 2 finely chopped courgettes for the filling, I just used what I had in the fridge.

I used a pack of Old El Paso Wholewheat Soft Tortillas, as there was 6 in the pack, I made 6 large Enchiladas and I ate one, himself had 2! So I am saying this recipe serves 6, but you could use smaller tortillas and put less filling in and make 12, 2 each, etc. etc. depends on your appetite! oh, and feel free to up the cheese 😉

Ingredients:
500g Turkey Mince
1 onion, diced

1 clove garlic, diced
1/2 courgette, finely diced

1/2 butternut squash, finely diced
6 soft wholewheat tortillas (or 12 small, or 8, etc, just adjust size of filling amount!)
Enchilada sauce*
120g grated low fat white and red chedder (or use whatever cheese, and amount you like, original reciped used 350g!)

20130326-105510.jpg

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees celsius.
2. Heat a large pan, I used spray oil as following sW, fry the turkey mince until lightly golden, drain any excess liquid, remove to a bowl
3. Return pan to medium heat and add onion, courgette, garlic and squash . Sauté until just softened, about 5/6 mins. Remove the vegetables from the pan and add to the meat mixture; then stir in 1 cup of the enchilada sauce and set aside
4. Add 1/2 cup of sauce (about 60g) to the prepared dish (oil the dish to go into the oven). Spread it around so it coats the entire bottom of the pan.
5. Assemble the enchiladas: Place tortilla on a work surface. Spoon 1/6 of the meat mixture down the middle. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons of cheese on top of the meat. Wrap the tortilla around the filling tightly and place it seam-side-down in the pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas and filling until you have finished filling the 6 tortillas. Place the tortillas side-by-side in the pan- it’s okay if they are all snuggled in there tightly.
6. Pour remaining enchilada sauce over the top of the stuffed enchiladas. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 30 minutes.
7. Remove pan from the oven and take off the foil. Sprinkle remaining cheese on top; return to the oven and let the cheese melt (about 5 minutes).
8. Serve immediately with desired condiments (lettuce, sour cream, guacamole all recommended, I served with rocket and watercress leaves, and fat free natural yoghurt).

*Enchilada Sauce:
Ingredients

3 cloves garlic, finely minced
2 Tbsp finely grated onion
3 cups passata
1 cup water
1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (or white/red wine vinegar)
3 Tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper (optional, makes it quite spicy!)
1 tsp salt, or to taste
3/4 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions
Heat a pan, I used spray oil. Add in garlic and onion and saute for 2 minutes.Stir in remaining ingredients and bring mixture just to a gentle boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for about 10 minutes.

20130326-105518.jpg

“Syns”

The Cocoa powder is 1/2 syn per tsp

The wraps I used were 10 syns each (oops, I will look for smaller in future, I did cheat though, and counted them as a Healthy B option plus 4 syns, which is not technically allowed but I allowed myself!)

The cheese can be used as part of Health A option or is 4 sysn per 25g (Kerry Low Low), most standard chedder is about 6 syns for 30g (please check yourself!)

3 thoughts on “Turkey Enchiladas

  1. This is new; I never saw vegetables in enchiladas before,(and I had to look up ‘courgette’…those are zucchini!) This is quite a healthy version,I must say! Keep up the good work, Sinead.

Leave a Reply

