Risotto

I’m sure that an Italian may gasp in horror at my risotto, not a drop of butter or oil in sight!! Still, it’s one of my most favourite meals, comfort food and so versatile!

I used asparagus, white wine and topped mine with some crispy bacon.

20130211-104413.jpg

Risotto

ingredients

250g risotto rice
Pack of asparagus tips, cut in bite size pieces
1 pint hot chicken stock
125ml white wine
1 clove garlic, crushed
Freshly ground black pepper
Freshly grated Parmesan
1 small onion, finely chopped

– sauté the onion and garlic with spray oil until softened
– add in the rice and stir for 1 min
– add the white wine and stir until absorbed
– add the stock, a ladle at a time, stirring in between until absorbed, then add another ladle, etc
– after about 10 mins add the asparagus
– when the rice is softened to taste, remove from heat and stir in some grated Parmesan (as much or as little as you like, and some fresh ground black pepper)
– I served mine topped with some crunchy grilled bacon, which I broke up and stirred through the rice

I was feeling generous so hubbie had his topped with a salmon fillet that I brushed with pesto, wrapped in Parma ham and baked for 15 mins!

20130211-104944.jpg

5 thoughts on “Risotto

    • Lol sorry Tonette!! I just finished reading a new cookbook called “How to eat like an Italian” while fabulous, there was a LOT of oil and butter 🙂 I’m pretty sure I was Italian in a last life as I love the food soooooo much!

      • It depends on what part of Italy, Sinead.My mother’s people are from just north of Rome, (Umbria). Most people emigrate from southern Italy.Small country, big differences over small distances…but then, that should not seem very strange to you.My “Joyce” side knows that there is (considered) big differences between people in the counties there, right?LOL!

Leave a Reply

