Satay

Since I saw this recipe in a Facebook Slimming World Group, I knew it was one I would have to try!

I defrosted some pork overnight (pork chops that I had trimmed of fat and sliced ready to go and put into the freezer) and decided that would do! (The original recipe called for chicken). As it happens, I was preparing the meat from the supermarket shop today and I had 1 chicken fillet over (I freeze them in bags of 2 fillets) so I chopped it up and threw it in as well!!

This dish is very tasty, it reminds me of a Penang Curry as well as a tasty satay..highly recommended!

Satay

Serves 4

ingredients

3-4 chicken breasts (I used 400g lean sliced pork…..and 1 chicken fillet!)
2 Onions, sliced
1 chilli, deseeded & finely chopped
2 Peppers, finely chopped
Mushrooms (I didn’t use these)
1 Knorr “herb stockpot” (optional, I didn’t have any)
1tsp cumin
1tsp coriander
1tsp turmeric
1tbsp madras curry powder
1tbsp sweetener
2 Garlic cloves
1 tablespoon minced ginger
2 level tbsp of smooth/crunchy reduced fat peanut butter 8syns (2syns per portion)*
200ml boiling water
400g chopped tomatoes
Handful of coriander (optional)

– In a frying pan or wok,sprayed with Fry Light, cook the meat until browned, remove and set aside.
-Spray the frying pan again with fry Light, cook onion, peppers, mushrooms, garlic, ginger & chilli until soft.
-Add the cumin, turmeric, curry powder & coriander, cook for 2 minutes then add the meat, tomatoes & sweetener, cook for 10 mins.
– Place the stockpot on top of the cooking food and allow to infuse.
– mix the peanut butter well with the boiling water then add and cook on medium heat until the meat is fully cooked and the sauce has thickened
– serve with rice, and sprinkle with freshly chipped coriander sprinkle the coriander over the food.

*If using full fat peanut butter, 2 level tbsp works out at 9 syns

20130123-222016.jpg

One thought on “Satay

Leave a Reply

