Quick Thai Red Curry

Yesterday I spent most of the afternoon travelling and by the time I got home I wanted a takeaway and I wanted it to be unhealthy!!

However, hubbie had other plans and had taken out chicken fillets to defrost.
Before I left for home on Friday, I was feeling effecient and sliced all the veg in my fridge and bagged it up for the freezer so dinner was a quick job in the end and I felt so virtuous for having not ordered the chicken burger and chips I actually wanted!!

I only had 2 chicken fillets so I made enough veg and sauce to have for dinner today and cooked the 2 fillets, I’ve stated 4 for the recipe below. I know it’s probably the least authentic Thai Red Curry but it’s low fat, low syn (about 2.5 each serving) and Delish and I’ve listed out what I used for it!

Thai Red Curry

Serves 4
ingredients
4 chicken fillets, cut in 3
1 large carrot finely sliced (I used mandolin side of box grater)
1 large red onion, sliced
1 yellow (or any colour) pepper, sliced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 tablespoons Thai red curry paste (or to taste, 1 syn per tablespoon for SW followers)
1 tablespoon fish sauce (optional but adds great flavour)
1 tablespoon sweetener
200mls Light coconut milk (7.5 syns)
1 litre of hot chicken stock
Pack of mangetout or sugar snap peas
Fresh coriander (optional)

– fry garlic in spray oil for about half a minute, then add the curry paste, stir well
– add the onions, peppers and carrots and stir well, fry for 2 mins approx, add fish sauce and sweetener
– add the stock and bring to the boil
– drop in the chicken pieces and simmer for 20 mins, gently bubbling
– add the mangetout and cook for another 10 mins
– add the coconut milk, turn off heat and stir
– serve with rice (I use brown basmati seasoned with pilau rice seasoning) and sprinkle with fresh coriander if you like it!

Today I baked 2 salmon fillets and spooned the left over curry sauce over, and served with brocolli and some healthy actifryer sweet potato and regualar potato chips! Yum!!

20130122-183306.jpg

Leave a Reply

