Weetabix Muffins

20130114-103103.jpg

Muffins…made from Weetabix?? I was dubious, I hate weetabix, except for the crispy mini ones with fruit and nut with cold milk and they don’t go soggy!!

I’m in a private group on Facebook with support for Slimming World members and a lady mentioned the weetabix muffins and I was intrigued!

So this morning, armed with a cuppa I got the oven on and got stuck in. They turned out Delish, I used a raspberry yoghurt, though next time will use less as the pot was quite big and I had to put the muffins back in the oven for an extra 10 mins as they were a little soggy. Junior 1 is going to love these! Junior 2 insisted on sharing and he approved!

20130114-103721.jpg

Weetabix Muffins

ingredients
2 weetabix, crushed
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 pot muller light fat free yoghurt, any flavour (I used Danone activia snackpot, half of it was a little too much!)
2 tablespoons sweetener
Vanilla extract (or any flavour you like)

20130114-103741.jpg

– preheat oven to 180
– mix everything together
– pour into 2 muffin cases or 4 cupcake cases (I was told silicone works best so I used silicone and the muffins removed with no problem!)
– bake for 25 mins and cool before eating

– these (the whole mix) are syn free if using the weetabix as a Healthy B option

20130114-103759.jpg

14 thoughts on “Weetabix Muffins

  1. I had to look up Weetabix, Sinead…I don’t have them here, at least,I have never seen them.I will have to keep looking, as we receive new things here all the time.And you have me curious!

  2. They sound disgusting but actually look nice. This sounds strange but do they smell like weetabix? I think it’s the smell of weetabix and milk I don’t like rather than the taste

    • No they don’t! I make weetabix every morning for my baby and the smell of hot milk in it makes me gag!
      I think because you can add flavouring to these it hides the taste…I’ve made them a few times now and have learned to give them a bit longer in the oven to avoid any sogginess at all!

  3. Wow! I’d rly given up this last week or so even tho slimming world had been working…I just felt like it wasn’t for me but I love baking cakes so I’m gonna give these a wirl x

  4. Thank you for sharing this recipe 🙂 I was excited to try this tonight. I didn’t have any silicone cases unfortunately so used paper cases and not only did they stick to the sides, they came out gooey in the middle 😦 yours look delish. What do you think I’m doing wrong? I left them in the oven for as long as I could, but the tops were burning lol. Maybe less yoghurt? Thanks

    • Hi jessica, it took me a few tries to get them perfect! Every oven works slightly differently i think so maybe lower the heat if they were burning on top and cook for a bit longer.
      They have never not stuck to paper cases for me im afraid!
      You could try greasing a muffin tin with lo cal spray oil and see does that work?
      Good idea to try less yogurt it might help!

  5. Made these at the wkend.. Great for a snack. mine stuck to the paper case too, so I will try in a s silicone case next time. Going to try the added cinnamon also..

Leave a Reply

