Beef Bourguignon

I recently posted about having made Beef Bourguignon,,following the recipe in a past issue of the Slimming World magazine, it was fabulous, so tasty and easy and I decided on Sunday that it would be the perfect wintery dinner to come home to after a long (but lovely) day out with the family…I knew I would want junk food when I was tired so I was glad to have a healthy meal ready!

I didn’t have the magazine to hand, so I googled a few recipes, then used what I had (starting with a very small amount of beef!!) and came up with this, it was gorgeous!! I have a confession, I served it with Tesco “Finest” Colcannon, I just couldn’t resist it!!

The amounts I have listed fed myself and himself a big dinner portion, and a smaller “leftovers for lunch” portion, as well as 2 bowls for Junior 2……who demolished it!! I used my slow cooker but this could also be cooked in a casserole on a low heat for a few hours.

I calculated it to be 2 syns (due to the wine) or apprx. 300 kcal per adult portion, but these are guesstimates only!

Beef Bourguignon

400g stewing beef, cut in small pieces and trimmed of any fat
4 smoked bacon rashers, trimmed of rind and cut in small pieces
2 red onions, chopped
1 red pepper, sliced
4 large carrots, cut into decent size chunks (I used a lot of carrots as I love them in a casserole)
2 medium parsnips, cubed
3 sticks celery finely chopped
8 mushrooms (I left these whole so I could pick them out easily but normal people can slice them!!)
1 bouquet garni (I used the dried sachets, remember to remove it and not shock your husband when he tries to eat it by mistake and accuses you of putting a teabag in his dinner!!)
1 tin chopped tomatoes
3 tbs tomato purée
250mls red wine
250 mls stock

– brown the meat and bacon over a high heat in a frying pan and pour into crockpot
– colour the carrots and parsnips over high heat and then into crockpot
– add the onions, chopped tomatoes, peppers and mushrooms and bouquet garni to crockpot
– deglaze the frying pan with the wine, add the stock and reduce slightly, pour into crockpot, stir well, season and cook on high for 2 hours, then low for 6 (or until meat is meltingly tender and carrots are soft…..try not to eat too much while “testing”
– stir in the tomato purée, leave for 10 mins or so to thicken then serve with your preferred accompaniment… I went for the lazy option with colcannon from tesco but mashed potato is great with it too!!

20130108-001832.jpg

One thought on “Beef Bourguignon

  1. Pingback: Mushrooms and Me | Thisismeandfood's Blog

Leave a Reply

