Weigh in 19, and some foody photos

This week I dithered a lot, would I, wouldn’t I go to class, was feeling wretched, sick AGAIN, on antibiotics and not being terribly dedicated to the programme.

Off I went, scarf around poor sore throat, water bottle in hand.

1lb down, woohoo!

Wasn’t the full 1.5 I had hoped to undo the previous bad week but it was enough to cheer me up and inspire me to make a sw friendly dinner (baked battered fish, onion rings, chips and pea purée) instead of my usual weigh in night blow-out!!

20121125-224640.jpg

On Thursday, as my son was learning all about Thanksgiving I decided to enter into the spirit of it and I roasted a small turkey, made stuffing with wholemeal breadcrumbs, fried onions, garlic and herbs in fry light (no butter, horrors!!), mashed it all up with sausagemeat and into the bird.
It was delish! We had roasted carrots and parsnips, broccoli and roast potatoes and rich gravy.
Junior enjoyed his chicken and stuffing very much indeed 🙂

On Friday, we were bold and ordered Thai food.
On Saturday he was away, I ordered a pizza.

Today I was back in form and made delicious soup with stock from the turkey carcass, a butternut squash, half a cauliflower, half a broccoli, 1 large leek, 2 small onions, clove of garlic, pinch of mixed herbs, boil, blitz, bowl – lovely!

We had leftover turkey and stuffing with creamed leeks (sauté leeks until soft in a little water the off heat add a dollop of quark and stir, lovely)

The finale though was dessert. I’ve posted about the 1/2 syn roulade,well I’m never one to leave a recipe alone. I made half the recipe up and baked it and so the sponge part was cut into 6 squares, a 25g tub of chocolate Philadelphia zapped for 20 seconds to make it really spreadable and spread over each square, then bottom slice, a spoon of fat free raspberry yoghurt, and fresh raspberries, another layer of the sponges stuff, repeat, top layer same again but I added a squirt of squirty cream, which looked great but didn’t make much difference to the overall taste.

Even if you are not following slimming world, this is a great low fat dessert to try out!

20121125-225731.jpg

6 thoughts on “Weigh in 19, and some foody photos

  1. Oh, we imported Thanksgiving to Ireland, did we now? Well, you know how many of us of Irish descent are here? Loads…Irish is THE most common ancestry claimed by Americans.I’m glad you had a good time with it all!LOVE the dessert!

    • I have family in America I was showing solidarity 🙂 My 4 year old came home from pre-school complete with pilgrim head mask, greeting card with a hand print turkey and the story of thanksgiving, it was so sweet!
      At the table we had a little discussion about what we were thankful for, mine was my loving and ever patient husband, my two beautiful boys and being back on my feet again, along with my supportive family and friends. Junior 1 was grateful for his toys…..junior 2 seemed to like turkey 🙂

Leave a Reply

