Bruschetta for Breakfast

I’m sick, hungry and tired this morning. I wanted something tasty but that incorporated my daily portion of “Scan Bran” (a high-fibre crisp bread, think ryvita but tougher, and dryer!!)

I’ve been experimenting with the scan bran, following recipes and ideas online. A popular method is to add water to broken up pieces, soak until moist enough to mash, drain off excess water, add sweetener, flavours and an egg and microwave for 5 minutes. I’ve tried chocolate cake (more on that next entry!!) and then thought, I want toast, I need to eat this stuff (as part of a “challenge” – eat 5 pieces every day for a week with 2 litres of water, said to help boost weight loss)
So I soaked the scan bran, added the egg and a pinch of salt and microwaved it for 5 minutes in a Chinese takeaway tub.

When it was done, I removed it, left it on a piece of kitchen paper upside down to allow steam to escape and dry bottom off, then when cool to touch, sliced through middle lengthways – 2 loaf shaped slices of “bread”

I then cut each in half and grilled on one side until crisp, meanwhile I chopped 2 fresh vine tomatoes and grated 30g o my favourite cheddar cheese – Cracker Barrell!

When the bread was grilled, I topped each slice with the tomatoes and some chopped basil, then sprinkled with the cheese and back under the grill until cheese was bubbling.

This was Delish, very filling and had some fresh black pepper over the brushetta and had a spoon of extra light mayo on the side!!

Scan bran can be purchased at your Slimmin World class or instore and online at Holland and Barrett

20121120-104214.jpg

Leave a Reply

