Pumpkin Bread

20121030-200948.jpg

I have carved pumpkins for Halloween for years now and always throw out the insides!!

This year after reading Tonette’s Blog Entry, I bought 3 smallish “eating” pumpkins and today after carving fun with “help” from No.1 I steamed the pumpkin flesh, mashed and and made the Pumpkin Bread Recipe with more help from Junior (although, naturally, it was cake we made…)

The mix yielded 2 x 1lb loaf tins and 4 mini silicone loaf tins. It’s delicious and even better Junior No.1 loves it!

I am thinking tomorrow I may need to try the cream cheese filling!

In the interests of those of us following Slimming World (however loosely), there are approx 5 syns per slice, I cut 36 portions, each 1lb loaf tin in 10 slices and the mini loaf tins in 4.

20121030-201423.jpg

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread

  1. Thank you so much for the plug! I hope you have a great time and enjoy the bread. It freezes well, to boot.
    (One note :’Tonette ” has one ‘n’, but I’m kind of used to misspellings!)

  2. Thanks,(even my father used to add two ‘n’s’, which should tell you something about OUR relationship!)
    I don’t see why squash or sweet potatoes would not work; sweet potatoes and pumpkin are almost interchangeable.There are many,many zucchini bread recipes out there,(even with chocolate, but I think that may be pushing it a bit far!)
    Good luck experimenting; make it your own!

  3. This looks very nice! I am dying to get my hands on the pumpkin flesh from my mum’s pumpkin when she carves it tomorrow, and might attempt to make this Slimming World friendly, if possible!

      • Ah that’s cool 😀 Mine are around 4 or 5 depending on how many slices I get out of them – maybe not so worth all the tweaks I made haha? 10 minutes left in the oven and they smell amazing!

      • Ah that’s cool 😀 Mine are around 4 or 5 depending on how many slices I get out of them – maybe not so worth all the tweaks I made haha? 10 minutes left in the oven and they smell amazing!

Leave a Reply

