A Step In The Right Direction

Today was a good day.

A long, long awaited review with the Surgeon who performed the stabilisation of the lisfranc Fracture (all 4 fractures, needed 5 pins, 4 screws, and 12 weeks non weight bearing!!) happened this morning.

The stitches from the pin removal 2 weeks were removed and I held my breath until he said “ok, we can start controlled weight bearing”. I nearly hugged him!!

It means I still wear the (awful looking) “Moon Boot” for support and protection of my foot for another 4 weeks but I can walk on it!! Best news I’ve had in a long time and the boost I needed to cheer me up!!

My first few steps were tough and it’s a lot more painful than I anticipated, weirdly, the pain is mostly in my ankle
On either side, not the injured area- I guess my ankle is in shock with the weight being put on it for the first time
In months!

I can’t wait to walk, however slowly, to the shop across the road with the pram and the baby, something I haven’t been able to do for 3 long months.

Still a bit to go and will have an orthotic insert made for my shoes when the boot is off in 4 weeks but I’m delighted!! Looking forward to getting to swim when I’m more confident on 2 feet and finally start getting my body moving again!

No more knee scooter for me but it was a godsend when I got it and can highly recommend anyone in this unfortunate position to hire one from John at Momentum HealthCare Direct, based in CityWest.

One thought on “A Step In The Right Direction

Leave a Reply

