A New Kitchen Toy

Move over inner Nigella, I’m channeling my inner Jamie lately with my new favourite kitchen utensil – a 3 in 1 peeler!!  A long time ago, when I attempted lo-carbing for a while, I got to like “Zoodles” aka, courgette (Zukini) “noodles” – courgette sliced in very thin, julienne strips and used as a pasta substitute. Very nice, but a lot of work! A friend mentioned recently that she had purchased a Julienne Peeler and a quick google later I found this. I checked it out on Jamie’s Site and 5 minutes later had clicked “Buy”, my new toy arrived 2 days later!

 

The first dinner I made using my new peeler was a Chicken and Noodle Dish, First I peeled the carrot using the regular peeler attachment, then popped that out and used the Julienne Peeler attachment to peel the carrot into Julienne slices. They will come off the vegetable in one strip and then you just lift them apart in a big bundle after, really easy and kind of fun! Watch your fingers though, I cut myself twice by holding the carrot awkwardly!

Same for the courgette/zukini, but I didn’t peel it. I put the carrot strips into boiling water for 2 minutes, then added wholewheat noodles, cooked them for 3 minutes, then added the courgette and simmered for another minute. Drained all and kept to one side.

I stir fried chicken pieces, onion and pepper with some chilli, lemongrass, garlic and ginger, added the noodles and veg and splashed in some oyster sauce  (1 syn per tablespoon) at the end.

 

I am subscribed to an excellent blog, i’ve mentioned it before – Slimming Eats and this morning opened my email account to find an email with this Bruschetta recipe.

Perfect idea for breakfast! I had some over-ripe vine tomatoes in the fridge, and wanted to try the “soft fruit” attachment of the new peeler! Well, no more boiling and skinning tomatoes for me, the peeler works like a charm and so easy!

Feeling lazy, I just toasted some wholewheat bread (60g, Healthy B) and decided that I didn’t fancy garlic first thing in the morning. So while the bread was toasting, I de-seeded and chopped the tomatoes, added some fresh basil and extra virgin olive oil. As per recipe, I served the tomato mix on the toast and it was delish!! Will be even nicer made correctly as a starter.

*I accidentally ate ALL of the tomato  (it was just so tasty!) so had 4 Syns worth of olive oil (2 teaspoons)

Leave a Reply

