Lazy Sunday

20120826-202055.jpg

I woke on Friday morning and decided I felt like baking! I had a lunch meet up with some friends and the kids and I was on dessert so I decided to do a pavlova (I tried the recipe from the new Slimming World dessert book that uses half the usual amount of sugar but I just topped it with cream), and chewy cookies.

I’ve been trying to make crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside American style chocolate chip cookies for a long time and never got them quite right. A quick google later and we were off (with my trusty helper No.1). The batter was so easy and the result way too delicious, I’m snookered for life, and I had three of them on Friday as well as a small slice of pavlova, and 2 slices of pizza for lunch!

20120826-203759.jpg

Friday evening saw myself and my husband going for dinner with friends for a birthday – crutches, rain, 2 flights Of stairs and then finding out at the end of the meal that there was an alternative to the stairs put a spoiler on the evening for me, I had phoned the restaurant in advance and asked was there another way to get to the upstairs garden level and was told no!

Saturday – Milanos for lunch in Dundrum Shopping Centre. My first time in public using my knee walker/scooter and it was as tough as I expected to be stared at and overhear comments but kind of fun to scoot around the shops! Milanos are doing a new range of thin base, low fat pizza, advertised at under 500 calories each, and with the centre cut out and filled with fresh rocket and tomatoes. It was really tasty, but we waited 45 minutes for our pizza!

Chicken with chilli and veg stir fry last night with a glass (ok, 3) of white wine.

Today- back on track and for breakfast I had my new favourite – 60g homemade brown bread (healthy B) with 12 cherry tomatoes cut in half and heated in the microwave in a bowl with 2 tablespoons baked beans. No need for butter on the bread and very filling!

Lunch – rocket, tomatoes, a pack of steamed green veg and leftover roast chicken chopped up and stirred through a tablespoon of Ballymaloe Jalepeno Relish (1 Syn) and heated for 1 minute in the microwave. Drizzled the salad an veg with reduced fat honey mustard dressing (1/2 Syn per tablespoon) Yum!

For Dinner this evening we had peppered steak from the butchers, mixed frozen veg (how lazy!) and baked sweet potatoes. Followed by a scoop
Of homemade praline ice cream, I’m
Afraid to calculate the syns but I would say 10 would cover it, I only allowed myself a small scoop!!

Weigh in is on Tuesday, I don’t expect to be down This week!!

20120826-205251.jpg

Leave a Reply

