Spaghetti Bolognese

The beauty of Slimming World is taking your favourite recipes, and altering them to suit the sw ideals!

With that in mind, this Spaghetti Bolognese by Jamie Oliver is absolutely gorgeous, I came across It as part of a food club I’m in on a forum. On this occasion I used an 850g pack of minced steak so I amended the veg quantities to match.

20120807-113000.jpg

First, I trimmed all visible fat off the smoked bacon (I used 5 medallions of smoked back bacon instead of streaky to keep the sun value of zero.

20120807-113102.jpg

While the bacon was in the pan, with the oregano (using fry light instead of oil), I prepared the veg, I added an extra onion, carrot, stick of celery and clove of garlic as was using more meat than in Jamie’s original recipe! It took a lonnnnng time to chop all of this, while kneeling on my wheelie chair…..I realised about 3/4 of the way through I should have just used my processor, but I was nearly done when I had that lightbulb moment!

20120807-123419.jpg

20120807-123442.jpg

Sauté the veg, adding more spray oil or a little water to prevent sticking, then add the meat and brown, followed by the tomatoes and 1 tin of water, salt and pepper and finely chopped basil stalks. Bring to the boil, reduce and summer for an hour covered, then half an hour uncovered. Boil pasta. Stir in half the Parmesan and the basil leaves.

20120807-123810.jpg

I used whole wheat penne on this occasion, and served the plate 1/3 full with streamed green beans, mangetout, sugar snaps and brocolli (tesco do a handy microwave steam pack). The remaining half Parmesan can be used for sprinkling over the dish. This recipe made enough for 2 adults and 1 four year old x 4 dinners (I froze the remainder in bags of portions of 2.5)

Leave a Reply

