Roast pepper and chicken frittata

20120731-181731.jpg

I’ve been AWOL for a little while – see “walking accident” post and watch this space for more on that!

So to jump back in quickly with me and food-I made this yesterday. I had a friend calling and wanted to prepare something tasty, and easy, all food prep must be done with my left leg resting on my knee on a chair at the counter!

I have never been a big fan of omelette or frittata but since the last time I made one (roast veg and macaroni) I’m converted!

This couldn’t have been easier – I cut the peppers (a yellow and a red one) into flat slices, sliced an onion and put them all on the George foreman until softened and nicely grill marked (I would love a decent griddle for this sort of thing!!)
Meanwhile I tore some (leftover) roast chicken into bite size pieces and put it into a bowl with 6 eggs whisked with a little dried chilli flakes and salt and pepper.

When the onions and peppers were ready I got my friend (the lunch guest) to slice them up and stir into the egg mixture and the whole lot went into the oven at 180 for 40 mins.

Meanwhile I chopped a few leftover boiled baby potatoes and mixed with some finely chopped red onion, a pinch of garlic powder, a tablespoon of ex.light mayo (0.5 syns) and a tablespoon of fat free natural yoghurt. I’m a sucker for spud salad!!

Served with rocket and cherry tomatoes this was a filling and very tasty lunch! And leftover tortilla reheated nicely today!

Leave a Reply

