Bijou Review

20120720-113113.jpg

On Tuesday, my friend J called over to visit, and to take myself and No.2 out for lunch. He let me pick, so I suggested one of my favourite local restaurants, Bijou Bistro in Rathgar.
I had been here twice before and each time the food was delicious and I wasn’t disappointed this time!

We were shown to a table with room for Junior to have a chair beside me, he behaved impeccably, might I add, only looked to be held as my main arrived! We both opted for starter and main from the Lunch A La Carte Menu.

As you can see from the picture, my starter was the jewel-coloured beetroot risotto with walnuts and blue cheese, it comes as both starter and main course portion, (i’ve had it as a main before), absolutely delish, J opted for the homemade Butternut Squash soup (with no bread, carbs are evil apparantly!)

For main J had the homemade burger, minus the cheese, natch! and with a salad, no fries! No shame here – fish and chips please, with a salad – lets just say Slimming World didn’t get a look in!!

I tucked into the fish so fast I didn’t get a chance to take a photo but it was really fab, perfectly cooked, light crispy batter, really tasty. The mushy peas I didn’t like so much (marrowfat, as apposed to pea puree but I managed!) and the salad was tasty, I did eat a couple of chips, maybe 5 in total, but I was far too full at that stage!

I was treated to lunch so I didn’t see the bill but I will be going back again for such good food and friendly service.

(Note to self – next time bring Bottles as well as the formula for the 4 month old….)

Leave a Reply

