Mini Meatloaves with Tomato Glaze and Chedder Mash

20120717-105342.jpg

I bought these dinky little mini loaf tins a while back to make brown bread with my son, he loves to bake, and he loves brown bread, but when I came across this recipe on Slimming Eats I knew I had found a great new use for them!

I set myself a “Fridge” challenge, to use up what I have before shopping again and my rummaging uncovered a packet of Turkey Mince, an onion, a very sad looking carrot and a red pepper. I decided to try the meatloaves using Lean Turkey Mince instead of the Beef in the original recipe, and using the pepper instead of courgette.

 

 

The making of the meatloaves couldn’t be easier, and again, junior loved to help out – first blitz in the food processor the onion, 2 cloves of garlic, the carrot and the pepper (I roughly chopped all of these first)

We picked some parsley and oregano from the garden boxes (the excitement of doing this to a 4 year old whose job it is to water the plants every evening is lovely to see!) Added the Paprika and breadcrumbs and Junior had the important job of cracking in the egg with no shell!!

Mixing all together was of course squidgy fun and then into the 4 tins, they measure 3×5 inches each. Baked at 180 for 20 mins, as tins are silicone, no spray needed.

20120717-105405.jpg

After 20 mins, the recipe instructs us to remove the loaves, take out of tins and put in an oven proof dish (I being lazy and not wanting more dishes, lined a tray with tin foil), then brush with the glaze. I followed the glaze recipe as is with the exception of Passatta, I had none, so I used an extra tablespoon of purree and 2 tablespoons of water.

(The meatloaves at this point had a LOT of liquid around them, I drained this off before taking the meatloaves out of the tins and onto the tray).

20120717-105436.jpg

The loaves are taken out after 10 mins baking with the glaze on, and more glaze put on, and back into the oven for another 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I decided to serve these with Chedder and Spring Onion Mash (another recipe on the Slimming Eats site). I used reduced fat chedder but otherwise made no changes at all to the recipe, the only difficulty I had was to try to stop “tasting” the delicious mash while waiting for the meatloaves to finish baking!!

The final meal I served up with mash, and a good serving of Brocolli for Superfree. Really delish and Junior wolfed the meat and brocolli down, mashed potatoes not so much, but can’t argue with him when he devoured all the brocolli!!

20120717-105457.jpg

One thought on “Mini Meatloaves with Tomato Glaze and Chedder Mash

  1. Pingback: Leftovers, Greens and Baby Mush « Thisismeandfood's Blog

Leave a Reply

