Chewy Oat and Seed Bars

20120716-151950.jpg

Recently, I visited my good friend Anna who had made a batch of delicious baked goods, including Rachel Allen’s Oaty-Bars, original recipe here. Anna, like myself, is no stranger to seeing a recipe we like, and making just a few little changes!

I attempted to recreate these about 2 weeks ago, I didn’t have enough oats so I used Rice Krispies and the result, while tasty, was more like biscuits than chewy bars, and lacked the lovely fudgey texture that Anna’s Batch had!

Attempt 2 this morning – much better, I had all the oats! Still not quite the same as my friend’s, but delicious, chewy and even no.1 approves which is a big bonus as I feel great when he likes homemade goodies as apposed to shop bought muck!

From a Slimming World point of view, these are heavy on the syns – my altered recipe (below) works out 8 Syns per serving, I do wonder could they be considered a Healthy B Option, with all the seeds and oats and things, answers on a postcard please! For now though, I will count the Syns and enjoy the little treat! (Original recipe works out 11 Syns).

Recipe – Chewy Oat and Seed Bars

300g (11oz) Porridge Oats

100g (40z) Sunflower/Pumpkin Seeds (or both, I just used sunflower)

50g Flaxseed Mix (I used Linwoods Flax, goji berry, almond, etc. mix)

50g (2oz) plain flour

200g (7oz) Flora Light

200g (7oz) Golden Syrup

3/4 Cup Splenda (original recipe calls for 150g soft brown sugar)

125g Crunchy Peanut Butter

100g Raisins (or apricots, if you prefer, original recipe states 150g)

1 tsp vanilla extract

– Preheat oven to 160 c, Gas Mark 3, 325F

– Prepare a tin 18/28cm  (7×11 inch) with parchment paper, leaving an overhang for easy removal later

– Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl

– melt the Golden Syrup and Flora over a low heat, then add the splenda and mix well, then add peanut butter and stir until melted, add vanilla extract

– stir into dry ingredients and mix well

– press into the tin and bake for 20-25 mins, or until golden and slightly firm to touch

– remove from oven, cool in tin, then remove from tin, still in paper and cut into 24 squares

– Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week (I think they improve with a few days storage!) or they freeze well.

Leave a Reply

